IEEE Computer Society Approved Candidate Slate
Every year, the IEEE Computer Society Board of Governors approves the candidate slate for the annual election.

At their 9 June meeting, the IEEE Computer Society Board of Governors approved the candidate slate for the 2022 election. 
(Please note that the candidates are listed in alphabetical order) 

2023 President-Elect (2024 President)

  • Jyotika Athavale, NVIDIA
  • David S. Ebert, University of Oklahoma

2023 First Vice President

  • Gregory T. Byrd, North Carolina State University
  • Hironori Washizaki, Waseda University

2023 Second Vice President

  • Grace A. Lewis, Carnegie Mellon Software Engineering Institute
  • Ramalatha Marimuthu, iExplore Foundation for Sustainable Development

2023-2025 Terms on the Board of Governors
(Members may vote for up to six Board of Governors candidates)

  • Ilkay Altintas, San Diego Supercomputer Center
  • Nils Achenbruck, Universität Osnabrück
  • Ümit V. Çatalyürek, Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Ernesto Cuadros-Vargas, Universidad Católica San Pablo, Peru
  • Mike Hinchey, University of Limerick
  • Joaquim Jorge, University of Lisbon
  • Rick Kazman, University of Hawaii
  • Samee U. Khan, Mississippi State University
  • Shaoshan Liu, PerceptIn
  • Carolyn McGregor, Ontario Tech University
  • Andre Oboler, Online, Hate Prevention Institute
  • George K. Thiruvathukal, Loyola University Chicago

For each elective office of the Computer Society, individual voting members eligible to vote in the election may nominate candidates by written petition provided such nominations are made at least 28 days before the first published day of the 2022 election.   The number of signatures required on a member petition is determined in accordance with IEEE Bylaws.  Any member who wishes to seek elected office via member petition should contact for more information.

All professional and graduate student IEEE CS members on record as of 8 June 2022 are eligible to vote in this year’s IEEE CS election. (Undergraduate student members do not hold voting rights.)

The 2022 Computer Society election will begin on Monday, 8 August, and end on Monday, 12 September at 12:00 PM EDT USA/16:00 UTC.  Results will be announced in Computer’s December issue and online.